SAIL Directors to Hold Additional Charge

Press Release
New Delhi

Consequent upon the superannuation of the Managing Directors of two of SAIL’s major operating units – Dr. Sanak Mishra, Managing Director, Rourkela Steel Plant (RSP) and Dr. S.K. Bhattacharyya, Managing Director, Durgapur Steel Plant (DSP) – two senior most Directors of the company will hold additional charge for these units. Mr. R.P. Singh, Managing Director, Bhilai Steel Plant will hold the additional charge of the post of MD, RSP, while Mr. S.K. Roongta, Director (SAIL) will hold the additional charge of the post of MD, DSP with effect from 1 January 2006. This arrangement has been made for the period of three months or until further order.

Further, four independent Directors have also been appointed to the SAIL Board to fill up some of the vacancies. The newly appointed independent Directors of SAIL are Dr. S.C. Jain, Ex-Secretary, Legislative Department, Prof. R.P. Sengupta, Dean, School of Social Sciences, JNU, New Delhi, Dr. Velu Annamalai, Asstt. from Metallurgical Engg. College of Engineering, Madras, and Mr. Siddharth Kak, Former Director General (Vig.) & CVO, Customs & Central Excise Department. 

Set Order